World of Outlaws return to Lakeside Speedway in 2018

Print this page
November 19, 2017  |  by Tony Veneziano, SLS Promotions

The World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series will visit Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan., for the FVP Outlaw Shootout again in 2018, with the date set for Friday, Oct. 19. The date will coincide with the NASCAR weekend at Kansas Speedway, which is less than 10 miles from Lakeside Speedway. The FVP Outlaw Shootout will mark the ninth consecutive season that the series has competed at the 4/10-mile and 19th time overall, dating back to 1980.

This past season, Brian Brown picked up the win at his home track. Brown, who hails from nearby Grain Valley, Mo., held off rookie Sheldon Haudenschild and nine-time series champion Donny Schatz to pick up the win. Brown led early, before Kerry Madsen took control of the race, only to have a flat tire, when getting tangled with a lapped car, while holding nearly a nine-second lead. Brown inherited the lead at this point and went on to score the win.

Brad Sweet won at Lakeside for the first time in 2016. Schatz was victorious at in 2015. That win marked the first for Schatz at the historic venue. Madsen won in 2014, while Daryn Pittman, the 2013 World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series champion, won back in 2003.

The 2017 campaign was another historic one for the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series as 20 drivers picked up wins. Leading the way was Schatz, who scored his ninth series championship and became the first driver in series history to win 20 or more feature events in five consecutive seasons. David Gravel had a career-year, earning 18 feature wins and 19 overall series victories, which was second only to Schatz. Gravel finished third in points for the second consecutive year.

Sweet was nearly as consistent as Schatz, picking up 72 top-10 finishes just two less than the champion, with 56 of those being top-fives. Sweet visited victory lane five times in 2017 en route to finishing second in points. Pittman ended up fourth in the standings, while picking up three wins, with Shane Stewart, who reached victory lane eight times, rounding out the top five in points.

Jason Johnson, who won four races finished sixth in points, followed by Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award winner Sheldon Haudenschild in seventh. Kraig Kinser, who had a win was eighth, with Logan Schuchart, who earned a career-high four victories, in ninth and rookie Brent Marks rounded out the top 10.

Information on tickets for the FVP Outlaws Shootout, featuring the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series at Lakeside Speedway iwill be available soon at www.slspromotions.com.