Schott, Anderson, Powell, Jewett, Burns, Raffurty collect Charlie Kraft Memorial wins

Print this page
May 4, 2018  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Shawn Burns won the E-Mod feature during the Charlie Kraft Memorial on Friday, May 4, at the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan. (Lisa Burlington Photo)
Shawn Burns won the E-Mod feature during the Charlie Kraft Memorial on Friday, May 4, at the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan. (Lisa Burlington Photo)

The annual Charlie Kraft Memorial took place at Lakeside Speedway in honor of the Central Auto Racing Boosters Hall of Fame driver on Friday with 82 cars on hand for racing in six divisions, which included 17 USRA Modifieds, 17 B-Mods, and 8 Stock Cars, plus 6 Factory Stocks and 16 E-Mods along with guest class Midwest Mod-Lites 18 strong.

Oliver Harris of Tonganoxie, Kansas started the night with a heat race win in the Factory Stock heat. Jessie Mulich of Bonner Springs and defending E-Mod champion Billy Spilman of Rushville took the E-Mod heat wins. Midwest Mod-Lite victories went to Ed Griggs of Pleasant Hill and Dillon Raffurty. The lone USRA Stock heat-race victory went to Jake Newman of Smithville, Missouri after a frightening crash by last week’s feature winner Gary Donaldson who walked away from a multiple roll-over crash in turn three. Tim Powell of Lansing, Kansas, Luke Nieman of Nortonville, Kansas and Jaden Bears of Smithville were USRA B-Mod heat winners. Wrapping up the preliminary heat races were the USRA Modifieds as Rodney Sanders of Worthington, Minnesota, Darron Fuqua of Mayetta, Kansas and Nic Bidinger of Perry, Kansas scored the wins.

When racing resumed for the main events, it was Marshall Jewett who once again bested the field of Factory Stocks taking his second-consecutive main event win. Shawn Burns reeled in early race leader Jessie Mulich and pulled away from the rest of the field to claim his first-ever main event win. Dillon Raffurty found a way around rival Ed Griggs and drove to the victory in Mod-Lites while Kevin Anderson broke a year-long winless streak with a victory in USRA Stock Car action. Tim Powell collected his second-consecutive victory in USRA B-Mod action with a dominating performance. USMTS regular Lucas Schott dropped in on the weekly USRA action and collected the victory over Darron Fuqua who led early in the 20-lap USRA Modified main event.

Up Next: Thursday, May 10th, Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series with USRA B-Mods and E-mods as support classes with track championship points on the line. For ASCS information and advanced tickets, visit www.ascsracing.com and scroll to the ASCS Warrior Region section and click on 5/10 Lakeside Speedway. General admission for the ASCS event is $22.50. On Friday, May 11th, weekly racing resumes with USRA Modifieds, Stock Cars, and B-Mods, plus Grand Nationals, Factory Stocks, and E-Mods. When at the track, tune your radio dial to 87.7 FM for a radio broadcast of all the action.

Complete results, schedule information, track details, car class rules, and news is available on the track’s website at www.lakesidespeedway.net. Contact the track at (913) 299-9206. The track location is 5615 Wolcott Dr., Kansas City, Kansas, one mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City. Like and follow on Facebook at www.facebook.com/lakesidespeedway.kansascity. You may also email the track at lakesidespeedwaykc@gmail.com.

Quick-view results. For complete results visit www.lakesidespeedway.net.
Factory Stocks: 1) 7 Marshall Jewett, 2) .05 David Nickel, 3) 18 Wayne Brooke.
E-Mods: 1) 28s Shawn Burns, 2) 33s Ben Stockton, 3) 90 Jessie Mulich.
Mod-Lites: 1) 46 Dillon Raffurty, 2) 47 Ed Griggs, 3) 64 David Raffurty.
USRA Stock Cars: 1) 417 Kevin Anderson, 2) 222 Jake Newman, 3) 27 David Oxford.
USRA B-Mods: 1) 57 Tim Powell, 2) 99 Brad Smith, 3) 7j Jake Richards.
USRA Modifieds: 1) 4 Lucas Schott, 2) 87 Darron Fuqua, 3) 20 Rodney Sanders, 4) 4w Tyler Wolff, 5) 3b Nic Bidinger, 6) 27L Trevor Latham, 7) 68 Kerry Davis, 8) 90 Terry Schultz, 9) 21t Lance Town, 10) 16 Austin Siebert, 11) 34 Mark Schafman, 12) 10sb Lance Mari, 13) 74 Rodney Schweizer, 14) 5 Kevin McGinnis, 15) Tim Karrick, 16) 13h Eric Hanna, DNS) 7j Justin Johnson.