Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series invasion Thursday at Lakeside Speedway

Print this page
May 7, 2018  |  by Bryan Hulbert

Part of the lead up to NASCAR weekend, the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series will turn its attention to the KC Klassic on Thursday, May 10, at the famed Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan.

Four Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by Sawblade.com events have been held at the half-mile oval with just as many winners. Gary Wright picked up the inaugural victory in 2007, followed by Wayne Johnson in 2008. Brian Brown won in 2016 and one year ago Aaron Reutzel and Sam Hafertepe Jr. duked it out for the win with Reutzel winning the 25-lap showdown.

Thursday night is co-sanctioned with the Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region presented by Impact Signs, Awnings & Wraps.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with hot laps at 7. The event also will feature Out-Pace USRA B-Mods and local E-Mods. General admission is $22. Children ages 10 and under are admitted free.

The Lakeside Speedway is located at 5616 Wolcott Dr. in Kansas City, Kan. For more information, call (913) 299-9206 or log onto www.lakesidespeedway.net.

Live audio of the event can be heard at www.racinboys.com. For other news, notes, and information on the American Sprint Car Series, log onto www.ascsracing.com.

ASCS National Driver Points (top 15): 1. Seth Bergman 709, 2. Johnny Herrera 679, 3. Wayne Johnson 674, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 667, 5. Blake Hahn 642, 6. Roger Crockett 638, 7. Matt Covington 622, 8. Scott Bogucki 588, 9. Skylar Gee 580, 10. Jamie Ball 553, 11. Robbie Price 540, 12. Travis Rilat 516, 13. Harli White 504, 14. Alex Hill 489, 15. Chris Martin 456.

2018 ASCS National Tour Wins: Roger Crockett, Seth Bergman, Brady Bacon, Matt Covington, Greg Hodnett, Blake Heimbach – 1 each.