Anderson claims Gary D Memorial at Lakeside Speedway

Print this page
June 1, 2018  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Kevin Anderson celebrates his victory in the Gary D Memorial on Friday, June 1, at the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan.

Kevin Anderson celebrates his victory in the Gary D Memorial on Friday, June 1, at the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan.

A total of 60 race teams signed in for action at Lakeside Speedway for Racing on the River’s Edge for Sutera’s Pizza Night featuring the Gary D Memorial Super Stock Race. Special giveaways were presented throughout the night from Marrs Tree Service, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Christy’s Tasty Queen, Schweizer Performance, and Lakeside Speedway. The night’s events honored and celebrated the Gary D’s of Lakeside Speedway, Gary Dellinger and Gary Davis.

Five Factory Stock drivers signed in for action with Marshall Jewett emerging as the winner from the tail of the field. Seven Grand Nationals were on hand for one heat race as Kacey Shields held off a hard-charging Terry Bivins in second. E-mod drivers showed up 15 strong for a pair of heat races with Jessie Mulich of Bonner Springs grabbing heat one while Ben Stockton took command in heat two. Twelve USRA Stock Car drivers raced in a pair of preliminary events with Dean Wille and Scott capturing the wins. Luke Nieman of Nortonville, Kansas drove away from the field to claim the lone USRA B-Mod heat. Preliminary action closed out with a pair of USRA Modified heats won by Chase Domer and USMTS National Point’s leader Jake O’Neil.

Main events recap: After the intermission break, drivers returned for the night’s main events. Kerry Ayres of Gladstone, Missouri paced the opening laps of the Factory Stock main event; however, Marshall Jewett drove from the back of the field and picked up his fifth-consecutive feature win. Grand Nationals were next with a tight five-car battle at the front but Nick Newton of Kansas City, Kansas came away with his first win of the season. In the E-Mod main, Ben Stockton appeared to be on his way to a second win this season but Shawn Burns turned up the heat in the second half of the race and grabbed the lead at lap eight and went on to secure his second main event of the season. USRA B-Mods were up next in the order as Luke Nieman and Brad Smith held down the front row. With a great three-way battle for the entire distance, Brad Smith eventually came away with the victory, his second of the season. Chase Domer and Jake O’Neil led the way to start the USRA Modified main as O’Neil shot out front with Darron Fuqua pressuring for most of the distance. O’Neil appeared to have captured the victory but a post-race tech inspection revealed he did not pass tech and Darron Fuqua was declared the winner, his fourth feature win in his last five events!

The final event of the night was the 20-lap Gary D Memorial for the Stock Cars. A fantastic side-by-side and back-and-forth battle between Kevin Anderson and Dean Wille lasted nearly the entire distance before Anderson ultimately secured the $1,000 victory over Wille, Dominic Thyfault, Nate Barnes, and Sam Scott to round out the top five.

Special thanks to the Gary D Memorial Sponsors: TOPFLIGHT, AAA Lawnmower, Karen and Rick Darling, Shawn and Carol Burns, Crazy Dave Oxford, Christy’s Tasty Queen, Anthony Rozine and Rachel Kittleson, Crystal Trenching, Johnson County Key Service, Seeburg Muffler, Marrs Tree Service, Tompkins Industries, Chris and Patti Clark, Shari Lint and Jeremiah Schubert, and Pete Howey.

Up Next: Friday, June 8th is C.A.R.B. Night at the Races featuring USRA Modifieds, USRA Stock Cars, USRA B-Mods, Grand Nationals, E-Mods, and 4-Cylinders. When at the track, tune your radio dial to 87.7 FM for a radio broadcast of all the action.

Complete results, schedule information, track details, car class rules, and news is available on the track’s website at www.lakesidespeedway.net. Contact the track at (913) 299-9206. The track location is 5615 Wolcott Dr., Kansas City, Kansas, one mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City. Like and follow on Facebook at www.facebook.com/lakesidespeedway.kansascity. You may also email the track at lakesidespeedwaykc@gmail.com.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

Sutera’s Pizza Night
Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Friday, June 1, 2018

Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver and hometown.


1. (5) 7 Marshall Jewett, Gardner, Kan.
2. (1) 99A Kerry Ayres, Gladstone, Mo.
3. (3) .05 David Nickel, Kansas City, Kan.
4. (2) 18 Wayne Brooke, Atchison, Kan.
5. (4) 16 Matthew Matsukevich, Trimble, Mo.


1. (1) 711 Nick Newton, Kansas City, Kan.
2. (2) 9 Don Marrs, Shawnee, Kan.
3. (3) 42C Kacey Shields, Kansas City, Mo.
4. (4) 5 Terry Bivins, Lebo, Kan.
5. (5) 15 Nick Drew Jr., Kansas City, Kan.
6. (6) 29 Dennis Melvin Sr., Basehor, Kan.
7. (7) 8c Cami Bruner, Kansas City, Kan.


1. (2) 28S Shawn Burns, Overland Park, Kan.
2. (1) 33S Ben Stockton, Kansas City, Mo.
3. (12) 54 Eddie Ingram, Linn Valley, Kan.
4. (5) 63 Billy Spilman, Rushville, Mo.
5. (3) 236 Trevor Hand, Bonner Springs, Kan.
6. (4) 90 Jessie Mulich, Bonner Springs, Kan.
7. (6) 09 Shaunie Lanning, Kansas City, Mo.
8. (13) 20T Kit Bailey, Liberty, Mo.
9. (8) 14B Darren Bennett, Tonganoxie, Kan.
10. (7) 32 Dennie Belknap, Bonner Springs, Kan.
11. (10) 16 Paul Lanfermann II, Atchison, Kan.
12. (15) 99 Emma Martin, Independence, Mo.
13. (11) 15E Dakota Earls, Independence, Mo.
14. (9) 007 James Bond, Excelsior Springs, Mo.
15. (14) 3D Charlie Browne, Leavenworth, Kan.


1. (2) 99 Brad Smith, Belton, Mo.
2. (6) 57 Tim Powell, Lansing, Kan.
3. (1) 181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville, Kan.
4. (7) 0 Chase Galvan, Bonner Springs, Kan.
5. (3) 9 Don Marrs, Shawnee, Kan.
6. (5) 3x3 Nick Newton, Kansas City, Kan.
7. (4) 47 Tyson Lanfermann, Kansas City, Mo.
8. (8) 07 Daniel Harris, Excelsior Springs, Mo.
DNS.. (9) 44X Sam Schuler, Kansas City, Kan.


1. (4) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta, Kan.
2. (6) 3B Nic Bidinger, Perry, Kan.
3. (7) 34 Mark Schafman, Edwardsville, Kan.
4. (8) 70 Aaron Marrant, Richmond, Mo.
5. (5) 1K Tim Karrick, Basehor, Kan.
6. (10) 73 Mickey Burrell, Fair Grove, Mo.
7. (9) 74 Rodney Schweizer, Kansas City, Kan.
8. (12) 292 Kyle Thompson, Joplin, Mo.
9. (1) 227 Chase Domer, Nevada, Mo.
10. (11) 28 Jerry Liston Jr., Kansas City, Kan.
11. (3) 68 Kerry Davis, Parkville, Mo.
DQ – (2) 0 Jake O'Neil, Tucson, Ariz.


1. (1) 417 Kevin Anderson, Kansas City, Mo.
2. (6) 68M Dean Wille, Warrensburg, Mo.
3. (2) 27X Dominic Thyfault, Wakarusa, Kan.
4. (3) 29 Nate Barnes, Holt, Mo.
5. (5) 93 Sam Scott, Polo, Mo.
6. (7) 26 Russ Moyer
7. (9) T2 Tom Fogarty, Olathe, Kan.
8. (11) 222 Jake Newman, Smithville, Mo.
9. (4) 46 David Holcomb, Kansas City, Kan.
10. (10) 98 Richard Jameson, Sugar Creek, Mo.
11. (12) 27 David Oxford, Platte City, Mo.
12. (8) 30 Dakota Jennings, Lansing, Kan.