Berck snares Malvern Bank Super Late Model checkers; Bryant, Spilman, Ayres, Raffurty also capture Lakeside Speedway victories

Print this page
June 15, 2018  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Drivers and fans made their way to Lakeside Speedway for Racing on the River’s Edge and the Malvern Bank Super Late Model Series (SLMR). There were 25 drivers on hand for the SLMR action along with 21 Mod-Lites, 9 Factory Stocks, 10 E-Mods, and 15 USRA B-Mods for a total of 80 cars for the night.

Preliminary events recap: Factory Stocks kicked off the night’s preliminary events on the eve of next week’s $500-to-win Karl Tinsley memorial. Marshall Jewett started mid-pack and grabbed the lead late in the event and sailed on to victory to claim the lone heat race of the night. In the night’s E-Mod heat, Billy Spilman stalked Tim Billings all-race long and made the pass on turn four coming to the checkers to claim the victory. The SLMR Late Models made their way to the track with four hotly contested heat races. Picking up wins were point’s leader Ben Schaller, Troy Daly, Kyle Berck, and Jeremy Grady. Mod-Lites picked up the action for the Lakeside cars after the Late Model heats with Dillon Raffurty, Scott Naggatz, and Cody Miller picking up the wins. USRA B-Mods finished off the night with Tim Powell and Luke Nieman capturing the victories.

Main events recap: After a brief intermission break, racing resumed with the Malvern Bank Super Late Models for the B-Main with Brian Kosiski. Factory Stocks returned for their 10-lap main event but an early incident took out several cars including Matthew Matsukevich and five-time winner Marshall Jewett. Wayne Brooke led early in the event when the green waved over the field but it was seventh-starting Kerry Ayres who prevailed for his first feature win of the year. Billy Spilman prevailed in a hard-fought victory for his fifth E-Mod win of the season over Tim Billings. Mike Raffurty and Scott Naggatz battled hard for the win early in Mod-Lite action but as the drivers were maneuvering around a lapped car, Naggatz ended up on his lid but walked away okay. When racing resumed, it was Dillon Raffurty who grabbed the lead on six and sailed on to his second Lakeside Mod-Lite win of the year. IN the USRA B-Mods, Luke Nieman dominated the first 14 laps but just after taking the white flag Andy Bryant dove to the low side and emerged out front as the leaders ran close into turn three, Bryant stayed strong off turn four and held on for his second Lakeside USRA B-Mod win of the season.

In the Malvern Bank Super Late Model main event, Kyle Berck led early on through a fast-paced race until a lap-eight caution slowed the field. When racing resumed, Berck took off from the field on the high side and collected his 80th career win with the SLMR.

In victory lane, Berck said, “When the pressure’s on, you’ve got to hit your marks, I was searching around and on the white flag told myself not to do anything stupid.” For a full-field rundown, visit the series online at www.slmrseries.com.

Up Next: Friday, June 22 is the Factory Stock special event, Karl Tinsley Memorial featuring Factory Stocks, USRA Modifieds, USRA Stock Cars, USRA B-Mods, Grand Nationals, Factory Stocks, and E-Mods. Pits open at 5:00 p.m., spectator gates open at 5:30, drivers meeting takes place at 7:15, hot laps at 7:30, and racing at 8. Admission information: General Admission $12, Seniors (65+) and Military $10, Kids (ages 7-12) $6, Children (ages 6 & under) free, Suites $20, Kids (ages 2-12) $10. Pit Pass $30, Kids (ages 6 & under) $10.

Complete results, schedule information, track details, car class rules, and news is available on the track’s website at www.lakesidespeedway.net. Contact the track at (913) 299-9206. The track location is 5615 Wolcott Dr., Kansas City, Kansas, one mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City. Like and follow on Facebook at www.facebook.com/lakesidespeedway.kansascity. You may also email the track at lakesidespeedwaykc@gmail.com.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan.
Realtor Night
Friday, June 15, 2018

Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, car number, driver and hometown.


1. (7) 99A Kerry Ayres, Gladstone, Mo.
2. (1) 18 Wayne Brooke, Atchison, Kan.
3. (9) 78 Clint Bell, Paola, Kan.
4. (8) 37 Lane Chew, Lancaster, Kan.
5. (4) 58 Jeff Siler, Kansas City, Kan.
6. (2) 16 Matthew Matsukevich, Trimble, Mo.
7. (3) 5¢ David Nickel, Kansas City, Kan.
8. (5) 79 Oliver Harris, Tonganoxie, Kan.
9. (6) 7 Marshall Jewett, Gardner, Kan.


1. (4) 63 Billy Spilman, Rushville, Mo.
2. (1) 25 Tim Billings, Liberty, Mo.
3. (2) 236 Trevor Hand, Bonner Springs, Kan.
4. (6) 28S Shawn Burns, Overland Park, Kan.
5. (8) 4M Steven Makar, Basehor, Kan.
6. (5) 9 Shaunie Lanning, Kansas City, Mo.
7. (7) 33S Ben Stockton, Kansas City, Mo.
8. (3) 99 Emma Martin, Independence, Mo.
9. (9) 15E Dakota Earls, Independence, Mo.
10. (10) 7 James Bond, Excelsior Springs, Mo.


1. (6) 46 Dillon Rafferty, Kansas City, Mo.
2. (2) 41 Mike Raffurty, Kansas City, Mo.
3. (4) 64 David Raffurty, Kansas City, Mo.
4. (9) 47 Ed Griggs, Pleasant Hill, Mo.
5. (7) 98 Jeff Raffurty, Holt, Mo.
6. (3) 7 Cody Miller, Kansas City, Mo.
7. (10) 33 Kevin White, De Soto, Kan.
8. (5) 3 Nathan Wolfe, Lee's Summit, Mo.
9. (11) 8V Cody Vail, Louisburg, Kan.
10. (8) 73 Tony Kerr, Grandview, Mo.
11. (12) 2 Anthony Lane, Belton, Mo.
12. (18) 88 John Sharp, Vassar, Kan.
13. (13) 73T Ted Jensen, Portsmouth, Iowa
14. (15) 14T Tony Sterner, Harrisonville, Mo.
15. (14) 33L Mark Lane, Grain Valley, Mo.
16. (19) 78 Brett Garrett, Topeka, Kan.
17. (17) 12V Kellie Vail, Louisburg, Kan.
18. (20) 85 David Thomas, Kansas City, Mo.
19. (1) 54N Scott Naggatz, Carter Lake, Iowa
DNS – 21 Justin Raffurty, Kansas City, Mo.
DNS – 16 Tyler Furrell, Grandview, Mo.


1. (2) 28 Andy Bryant, Fort Scott, Kan.
2. (1) 181 Luke Nieman, Nortonville, Kan.
3. (3) 49 Patrick Royalty, Kansas City, Kan.
4. (5) 99 Brad Smith, Belton, Mo.
5. (6) 57 Tim Powell, Lansing, Kan.
6. (11) 0 Chase Galvan, Bonner Springs, Kan.
7. (7) 9 Don Marrs, Shawnee, Kan.
8. (8) 11P Jeremy Price, Blue Springs, Mo.
9. (9) 47 Tyson Lanfermann, Kansas City, Mo.
10. (12) 1A Ace Chatoo, Eudora, Kan.
11. (4) 117 Tim Galvan, Kansas City, Mo.
12. (13) 10C Christopher Connel, Leavenworth, Kan.
13. (10) 97J Jeff Elder, Smithville, Mo.
14. (14) 111 Steve Austin
DNS – 111t Terry Ellison, Eudora, Kan.


1. (4) 14 Kyle Berck, Marquette, Neb.
2. (14) 24 Bill Leighton, Lavista, Neb.
3. (12) 15 Jason O'Brien, Atlantic, Iowa
4. (13) 15K Justin Kay, Wheatland, Iowa
5. (6) 22C Charlie McKenna, Cedar Lake, Iowa
6. (3) 98 Ben Schaller, Omaha, Neb.
7. (9) 4K Josh Krug, Omaha, Neb.
8. (10) 4 Tad Pospisil, Norfolk, Neb.
9. (17) 1 Matt Buller, Hendersen, Neb.
10. (8) 53 Andrew Kosiski, Lavista, Neb.
11. (15) 52 Brian Kosiski, Papillion, Neb.
12. (11) 33 Paul Glendenning, Mount Ayr, Iowa
13. (22) 77B Bob Milander, Pierce, Neb.
14. (18) 173 Shad Badder, Bates City, Mo.
15. (7) 5 Todd Shute, Norwalk, Iowa
16. (1) 43 Jeremy Grady, Webster City, Iowa
17. (20) 13 Jason Wallace, Carter Lake, Iowa
18. (21) 91 Gabe Umbarger, Garner, Iowa
19. (23) 2 Mike Wallace
20. (24) 45 Dan Battaglia, Gretna, Neb.
21. (2) 44 Troy Daly, Omaha, Neb.
22. (16) 26JR Corey Zeitner, Omaha, Neb.
23. (19) 25 Brad Perdue, Council Bluffs, Iowa
24. (5) 6 Al Humphrey, Giltner, Neb.
25. (25) 2V Vic Lovejoy, Aubudon, Iowa