Fuqua, Nieman, O’Neal, Raffurty, Burns, Marrs, Reiff capture wins at Lakeside Speedway

Print this page
September 6, 2019  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Luke Nieman won the B-Mod main event.

Luke Nieman won the B-Mod main event.

Lakeside Speedway hosted 103 race teams on Friday evening in seven divisions of racing for week four of the 2019 season. Throughout the program, drivers competed in 15 preliminary heat races and seven main events as fans witnessed 22 races throughout the program.

By the end of the night, Darron Fuqua headlined the A-Mod action, with Luke Nieman snagging the B-Mod victory. Austin O’Neal drove to the Stock Car win as Dillon Raffurty captured the Mod-Lite main. Shawn Burns was victorious in E-Mod action with Don Marrs the winner in Grand Nationals while Spencer Reiff claimed his first-ever Pure Stock checkers.

Pure Stocks (10 cars): Heat Race #1 (top 3): Marshall Jewett, Spencer Reiff, Matthew Matsukevich. Heat Race #2 (top 3): Wayne Brooke, Keith Jennings, Darrin Christy. Brooke and Jewett earned the front-row starting positions for the main event. A-Feature (top 5): Spencer Reiff, Wayne Brooke, Keith Jennings, Darrin Christy, Matthew Matsukevich.

Grand Nationals (10 cars): Heat Race (top 3): Don Marrs, Steven Dibben, Darren Kling. Dibben and Marrs started the night’s main event on row one. A-Feature (top 5): Don Marrs, Darren Kling, Terry Bruner, Nick Drew Jr., Marshall Jewett.

E-Mods (16 cars): Heat Race #1 (top 3): Shawn Burns, Steven Makar, Trevor Hand. Heat Race #2 (top 3): Justin Bell, Dakota Earls, Adam Schelert. Burns and Bell earned the top two starting positions for the main event. A-Feature (top 5): Shawn Burns, Steven Makar, Adam Schelert, Tim Billings, Ryan Smith.

Mod-Lites (18 cars): Heat Race #1 (top 3): Ed Griggs, Mike Raffurty, David Raffurty. Heat Race #2 (top 3): Dillon Raffurty, Garrett Stonum, Jeff Raffurty. Ed Griggs and Dillon Raffurty accumulated the most preliminary heat race passing points to start on row one of the feature. A-Feature (top 5): Dillon Raffurty, Ed Griggs, Mike Raffurty, David Raffurty, Jeff Raffurty.

Stock Cars (14 cars): Heat Race #1 (top 3): Justin Seifert, Austin O’Neal, Kacey Shields. Heat Race #2 (top 3): Kevin Anderson, Nick Whalen, Jaylen Wettengel. Seifert and Anderson began the night’s main event from positions one and two. A-Feature (top 5): Austin O’Neal, Kacey Shields, Tim Shields, Nick Whalen, Kevin Anderson.

B-Mods (19 cars): Heat Race #1 (top 3): Blake Pierce, Trevor Hunt, Nick Newton. Heat Race #2 (top 3): Luke Nieman, Colten Stevens, Don Marrs. Heat Race #3 (top 3): Patrick Royalty, Tyson Lanfermann, Kyle Henning. Hunt and Nieman earned top honors for the night’s B-Mod main. A-Feature (top 5): Luke Nieman, Trevor Hunt, Patrick Royalty, Tim Powell, Nick Newton.

A-Mods (20 cars): Heat Race #1 (top 3): Nic Bidinger, Darron Fuqua, Tyler Wolff. Heat Race #2 (top 3): Paden Phillips, Tim Karrick, Kerry Davis. Heat Race #3 (top 3): Sam Florence, Rodney Schweizer, John Baker. Florence and Karrick earned the most passing points to begin the night’s final race from row one. A-Feature (top 5): Darron Fuqua, Nic Bidinger, Tim Karrick, Justin Johnson, Randal Schiffelbein Jr.

Complete results are available on the Lakeside Speedway website at lakesidespeedway.net.

Next Friday, September 13, the Lakeside Speedway hosts the return of Weekly Racing featuring A-Mods, B-Mods, Stock Cars, Pure Stocks, E-Mods and Grand Nationals.
Times: Pits 5, Grandstands 6, Drivers Pill Draw closes at 6:45 (no passing points if late), Drivers Meeting 7, Hot Laps 7:15, Racing 8.
Tickets: Adults (16+) $12, Seniors/Military $10, Juniors (12-15) $6, Under 12 FREE.
Terrace: Adults (16+) $15, Seniors/Military $12, Juniors (12-15) $8, Under 12 FREE.
Suites: Adults (16+) $20, Juniors (2-15) $10, Under 2 FREE (limited availability).
Pit Passes: Ages 7+ $35, 6 & Under $10 (minors 17 and under must sign release).

Lakeside Speedway is pleased to announce the rescheduling of the annual Joe Berry Clash of the B-Mods. The new race date is Friday, September 20. The race features an $8,800 purse for competing drivers with $1,750 going to the winner and $200 to start for cars at least taking the green flag in the 24-car main event.

Joe Berry Clash of the B-Mods payout: 1) $1750, 2) $800, 3) $600, 4) $500, 5) $450, 6) $400, 7) $375, 8) $350, 9) $325, 10) $300, 11) $275, 12) $250, 13) $225, 14-24) $200. Tow money is $50. There is no entry fee for this event, drivers pay pit pass only.

2019 Lakeside Speedway Schedule:
Friday, September 13 – Weekly Racing featuring A-Mods, B-Mods, Stock Cars, Pure Stocks, E-Mods and Grand Nationals.
Friday, September 20 – Joe Berry Clash of the B-Mod plus Weekly Racing featuring A-Mods, Stock Cars, Pure Stocks and E-Mods.
Friday, September 27 – CARB Night/Weekly Racing featuring A-Mods, B-Mods, Stock Cars, Pure Stocks, E-Mods, Grand Nationals and Kansas Antique Racers (KAR).
Friday, October 4 – Weekly Racing featuring A-Mods, B-Mods, Stock Cars, Pure Stocks, E-Mods and Grand Nationals.
Saturday, October 12 – Border Wars Demolition Derby.
Friday, October 18 – FVP Platinum Battery Showdown featuring World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series (support class TBA).

Complete results, schedule information, track details, car class rules and news are available on the track’s website at lakesidespeedway.net. Contact the track at (913) 299-9206. The track location is 5615 Wolcott Dr, Kansas City, KS, located one mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City). Follow on Facebook at facebook.com/lakesidespeedway.kansascity and Twitter at twitter.com/Lakeside_Spdwy. Email the track at lakesidespeedwaykc@gmail.com.