NEXT EVENT  Friday, August 12
6th Annual USMTS Grant Junghans Memorial

Clancy, O’Neal win Military Night thrillers at Lakeside Speedway

Print this page
August 21, 2015

Eventual winner Chad Clancy (21c) battles Chase Austin (111) during the USRA B-Mod feature race. (Reed Bros. Racing Photos)

Eventual winner Chad Clancy (21c) battles Chase Austin (111) during the USRA B-Mod feature race. (Reed Bros. Racing Photos)

Everyone might have shown up to see the USMTS Modifieds at Lakeside Speedway, but when they left they were talking about the thrilling features that the USRA B-Mods and USRA Stock Cars provided on the night.

In the USRA B-Mods, Chase Austin came into the night with two straight wins and after the heat races looked to be on his way to win #3.

Austin exploded to a heat win earlier in the night and he was rewarded with an outside front row starting spot for the feature.

At the drop of the green Dakota Foster, Andy Bryant and Austin battled at the front of the pack. Unfortuntely for Bryant mechanical failure after a restart would drop him from the race as he pulled off the track.

Foster and Austin would go at it for a short period.

Another restart would bunch the field up and on the restart Chad Clancy, last year’s USRA B-Mod National Champion, started his march to the front.

When Clancy reached Austin the fans were treated to wheel- to-wheel and door-to-door racing for several laps. It would set up a shoot-out for the final lap.

Clancy took the advantage over Austin late and with the white flag waving he shocked the crowd by dropping to the bottom of the track. He had taken the lead by taking Austin’s line going through turns 1 and 2, which was the high line.

It was the right move for Clancy. The two battled down the back shoot but Clancy would come out of the final turn with a slim lead and the drag race was on. At the stripe it was Clancy by the length of his bumper!

It was a great battle and the fans stood and cheered with appreciation.

Austin came home a close second, third went to Foster, the track points leader, Ed Noll finished fourth and Gene Claxton charged from 15th to fifth.

Heat race winners were Foster, Austin, Noll and Randy Ainsworth. The "B" feature was won by Shad Turner.

The USRA Stock Car feature packed just as much excitement as the USRA B- Mods.

The points leader, Brett Heeter, has had a super year with 6 wins and a 200 plus point lead in the division.

On the other side of the spectrum was John O’Neal Jr. O’Neal had one win on the season, but was not a competitor on a weekly basis.

To start the feature O’Neal would be outside of the front row and Heeter would begin the feature right behind O’Neal. For the duration of the main event it was a title bout that went 12 rounds.

Both drivers would take turns leading the main event. Back and forth the advantage would swing between the two drivers. Awesome driving talent and respect was displayed between the two as the battled in close quarters without ever touching each other.

The race would come down to the final few laps. O’Neal took the top spot for good and held on to the checkers for the tight win over Heeter.

Heeter finished in the runner-up spot, Nate Barnes raced his way from 10th to third, fourth went to Tom Fogarty and Jason Park rounded out the top 5 in fifth.

The action at Lakeside Speedway will continue next Friday night, Aug. 28, at with more USRA Weekly Racing action on C.A.R.B. Night.

USRA B-Mod Feature:
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 4 21C Chad Clancy Smithville , Mo 100.00
2 2 111 Chase Austin Eudora , Ks 95.00
3 3 5 Dakota Foster Gardner , Ks 91.00
4 5 15 Ed Noll Excelsior Springs, Mo 87.00
5 15 42 Gene Claxton Kansas City, Mo 84.00
6 20 77 Doug Keller Easton , Mo 81.00
7 8 181 Luke Nieman Nortonville , Ks 78.00
8 19 17T Shadren Turner Saint Joseph, Mo 76.00
9 7 C4 Curtis Dreasher Hoyt , Ks 74.00
10 6 57 Randy Ainsworth Excelsior Spgs, Mo 72.00
11 12 49 Patrick Royalty Kansas City, Ks 70.00
12 17 38 Matt Pugh Overland Park, Ks 68.00
13 18 0 Chase Galvan Bonner Springs, Ks 66.00
14 23 20C Jay Bailey Osage City, Ks 64.00
15 16 222 Colten Stevens Basehor , Ks 62.00
16 22 5B Terry Bivins Lebo , Ks 60.00
17 24 13 Stephen Blake Sr Shawnee , Ks 58.00
18 10 3X3 Nick Newton Kansas City, Ks 56.00
19 13 42T Tim Shields Kansas City, Mo 55.00
20 1 28 Andy Bryant Fort Scott, Ks 54.00
21 9 2 Dustin Gilbert Lawrence , Ks 53.00
22 11 9 Don Marrs Shawnee , Ks 52.00
23 21 44 Sam Schuler, Jr. Kansas City, Ks 51.00
24 14 17 Dean Galvan Bonner Springs, Ks 50.00

USRA Stock Car Feature:
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 2 15 John O’neal, Jr. Kearney , Mo 100.00
2 4 05 Brett Heeter Kansas City, Ks 95.00
3 10 29 Nate Barnes Kearney , Mo 91.00
4 6 T2 Tom Fogarty Olathe , Ks 87.00
5 3 72A Jason Park Kansas City, Ks 84.00
6 8 5K Steve Herrick Topeka , Ks 81.00
7 11 97J Jeff Elder Smithville , Mo 78.00
8 5 17 Kevin Mcginnis Kansas City, Ks 76.00
9 12 1 Christopher Smith Kansas City, Mo 74.00
10 13 41K Vernon Kever Kansas City, Mo 72.00
11 7 04 Chad Walker Kansas City, Ks 70.00
12 1 0T Bobby Tavis Iii Leavenworth , Ks 68.00
13 16 26 Russ Moyer Wellsville , Ks 66.00
14 9 29T Terry Ellison Eudora , Ks 64.00
15 14 34S Richard Sparks Kansas City, Ks 62.00
16 15 7 Marshall Jewett Gardner , Ks 45.00 DNS