NEXT EVENT  Friday, August 12
6th Annual USMTS Grant Junghans Memorial

Stovall dominates MLRA at Lakeside

Print this page
September 5, 2015  |  by Trenton Berry

After a nearly two-year hiatus from Lakeside Speedway, the Lucas Oil MLRA returned to the Kansas City oval Friday evening. Jesse Stovall qualified on the outside pole and took the lead exiting turn two on the opening lap. The 30-lap feature was contested caution-free. Stovall pulled away form the field lap after lap in his most dominant performance of the season. His margin of victory was over 10 seconds.

"It definitely was a heck of a night for us," stated Stovall in Andy's Frozen Custard Victory Lane. "I worked really hard on this car this week. We just went through this thing end to end hand got the race car back this week. Tonight this car was, holy cow! It was fun to drive."

Early in the running it appeared Dave Eckrich, in a new Black Diamond Chassis, was well on his way to at least a runner-up finish. However, something went wrong with his car and he was forced to exit the track.

Jason Utter was one spot back of Eckrich and inherited second. He stayed there for the remainder of the feature. The second place effort is his fourth of the year and second in a row.

"We'll just keep plugging away and maybe catch Stovall some day," Utter said. "We just couldn't turn as good as Stovall probably. When you can't turn against this competition they're going to get away from you. "

Tucson, Ariz., rookie Jake O'Neil finished third Friday evening. The final spot on the podium marked his best result of the season.

"I couldn't get through the center, that's where I was lacking," said O'Neil. "We fell back for a while and got back to third. I just have to thanks everybody that helped me. We're very fortunate to be out here. I can't thank them enough."


Hoosier Racing Tires Heat #1 (10 laps): 1. Jeese Stovall, 2. Jason Utter, 3. Jason O'Brien, 4. Scott Lewis, 5. Austin Siebert, 6. Brantlee Gotschall, 7. Dan Shepherd, 8. Chad Simpson, 9. Buddy Benedict.

RacingJunk.com Heat #2 (10 laps): 1. Dave Eckrich, 2. Jake O'Neil, 3. Terry Phillips, 4. Jeremy Payne, 5. J.C. Wyman, 6. R.C. Whitwell, 7. Jim Shereck, 8. Jacob Magee, 9. Lance Town.

Lucas Cattle Company Feature (30 laps): 1. Jesse Stovall, 2. Jason Utter, 3. Jake O'Neil, 4. Terry Phillips, 5. Jeremy Payne, 6. Scott Lewis, 7. Brantlee Gotschall, 8. Chad Simpson, 9. R.C. Whitwell, 10. Jim Shereck, 11. Austin Siebert, 12. J.C. Wyman, 13. Jason O'Brien, 14. Jacob Magee, 15. Lance Town, 16. Dan Shepherd, 17. Dave Eckrich, 18. Buddy Benedict.

Contingency Awards:
Andy's Frozen Custard Victory Lane - Jesse Stovall
AR Bodies - Buddy Benedict
Casey's General Stores Hard Charger - Chad Simpson
DirtOnDirt.com Pole Winner - Jesse Stovall
Hooker Harness 11th Place - Austin Siebert
KRC Hard Luck - Dave Eckrich
RacingJunk.com Hard Luck - Dave Eckrich
Landrum Springs Race Winner - Jesse Stovall
Fast Track Photos - Jesse Stovall
Performance Bodies Performer of the Race - Jesse Stovall
RaceNote Crew Chief of the Race - Tony Rogers
Real Racing Wheels - Jake O'Neil
Sunoco Rookie of the Race - Jake O'Neil
Wehrs Machine - Jason O'Brien

For all of the latest news and information fans are encouraged to visit the series website at www.MLRARacing.com. Fans may also visit the Lucas Oil MLRA Facebook page at www.facebook.com/LucasOilMLRA or follow on Twitter at www.twitter.com/MLRA.