NEXT EVENT  Friday, August 12
6th Annual USMTS Grant Junghans Memorial

World of Outlaws visit Lakeside Speedway in 2020 on October 16

Print this page
December 7, 2019

The World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series will visit Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kansas, again in 2020, on Friday, October 16. The date will coincide with the NASCAR weekend at Kansas Speedway, which is less than 10 miles from Lakeside Speedway. The event will mark the 11th consecutive season that the series has competed at the track and the 21st time overall, dating back to 1980.

This past season, Donny Schatz won for the second time in his career at Lakeside Speedway. The win was monumental as it was the first victory for a Ford-powered sprint car with the Outlaws since 1998. Logan Schuchart finished second with Brad Sweet in third.

Daryn Pittman was victorious at Lakeside Speedway for the second time in his career in 2018. Brian Brown scored a very popular win at Lakeside in 2017 in front of his home crowd. Sweet won at Lakeside for the first time in 2016. Schatz was victorious at Lakeside Speedway in 2015. Kerry Madsen won at Lakeside Speedway in 2014.

Sweet claimed his first World of Outlaws championship this past season and the second overall for Kasey Kahne Racing. The California native won a series-best 16 races en route to the title, which he claimed by a mere four point over Schatz, who won 11 times in 2019. David Gravel, who reached victory lane on 10 occasions this past season was third in points. Daryn Pittman, who won four races was fourth in the standings, with Logan Schuchart, who won a career-high eight times, rounding out the top-five.

Carson Macedo, who claimed the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award was sixth in points, on the strength of four wins. Ian Madsen, who scored two wins, was seventh in the standings, with Sheldon Haudenschild, who won twice, in eighth. Shane Stewart, who picked up one win in 2019 was ninth in the final points tally, with Brent Marks, who scored the biggest win of his career in the Williams Grove National Open, rounding out the top-10. Veteran drivers Kraig Kinser, Jacob Allen and Jason Sides all were on the road as well in 2019.

Ticket information will be available soon at slspromotions.com.