NEXT EVENT  Friday, July 1
Weekly Racing Series #9

USMTS Spring Sizzler this Friday at Lakeside Speedway

Print this page
May 11, 2021

The Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s resume their march to glory and the crowning of the next 2021 USMTS national champion when the series tackles the Lakeside Speedway this Friday, May 14, for the 7th Annual USMTS Spring Sizzler presented by VP Racing Fuels.

The event will pay $10,000 to the winner of the USMTS Modified main event and licensed starters earn at least $700 for clawing their way into the main event.

Friday’s show will see the pits open at 3 p.m., grandstands open at 5, hot laps at 7:10 and racing at 7:30.

Support classes include Medieval USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods competing for Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points as well as E-Mods racing under Laekside Speedway track rules.

Since the debut of the USMTS at the Lakeside Speedway on July 13, 2012, there have been 20 events contested. Ryan Gustin won the first bout—his only win here—with 11 other drivers earning a checkered flag since then.

Terry Phillips and Rodney Sanders lead the way with four wins each while Jeremy Payne owns three wins. The only other multi-winner is defending Grant Junghans Memorial champion Ricky Thornton Jr.

Nic Bidinger, Matt Dotson, Jesse Sobbing, Aaron Marrant, Lucas Schott, Stormy Scott and Jake O'Neil have each tasted victory one time at the 4/10-mile speedplant.

The latest USMTS point standings shows a murderer's row of open-wheel talent with Phillips leading the the way over Dereck Ramirez, Sanders, Tanner Mullens and O’Neil. Phillips has two victories on the year while Ramirez, Dustin Sorensen, Carlos Ahumada Jr. and Brooks Strength have one win under their belts.

Top 10 in points heading into May 14 at Lakeside Speedway:

1. 75 Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo. ... 515
2. 4R Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla. ... 505
3. 20 Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas ... 498
4. 02 Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Kan. ... 453
5. 0 Jake O'Neil, Tucson, Ariz. ... 452
6. 12 Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla. ... 438
7. 60 Dan Ebert, Lake Shore, Minn. ... 433
8. 69 Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn. ... 425
9. 19 Dustin Sorensen, Rochester, Minn. ... 422
9. 1ST Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M. ... 422

A pair of regional drivers will look to add a USMTS victory to their growing driver profiles on Friday. Darron Fuqua of Mayetta, Kansas, has an eye on his first USMTS victory this season. Fuqua is a past track champion and multi-time winner at Lakeside Speedway, and has already scored a victory at the track this season.

Grandview, Missouri's Austin Siebert is also gunning for a victory. Siebert scored his first Lakeside Speedway victory of the year in last Friday’s NASCAR Advance Auto Part Weekly Series program.

Other titans expected to battle for the $10,000 top prize include Tyler Wolff, Tyler Davis, Joe Duvall, Zack VanderBeek, Jesse Glenz, Jake Gallardo, Lance Mari, Lucas Lee, Will Krup, Jacob Bleess, Jayson Good, Curt Myers, Clint Johnson, Landon Atkinson, Brandon Givens, Fito Gallardo, Chris Clark, Nathan Hagar, Devon Havlik, Michael Lee, Adam Kates and more.

The USMTS will return for an encore performance and a pivotal contest in the battle for the national title on Friday, October 29, for the 6th Annual Grant Junghans Memorial presented by Mel Hambelton Ford.

The month of May also features the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championships on Friday and Saturday, May 21-22. Joining the USAC 410 Sprint Cars and USAC Midwest Wingless Racing Association will be E-Mods and Mod-Lites. Additional details are available at LakesideSpeedway.net.

The Lakeside Speedway is located 1.0 mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City). The track location is 5615 Wolcott Dr, Kansas City, KS 66109. Check them out online at LakesideSpeedway.net.

Taking dirt to a new level: The 2021 campaign for the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s features 36 nights of racing with the winners of those main events set to take home over $300,000 in earnings from more than $1 million in prize money earmarked for those shows. Twenty-six of the 36 race nights will pay at least $10,000 to win while the other 10 carry a $5,000 top prize.

As if that weren’t enough, more than $230,000 is committed to the top ten finishers in the 2021 points standings with a record $70,000 reserved for the 2021 USMTS National Champion.

Visit usmts.com for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.