NEXT EVENT  Friday, July 1
Weekly Racing Series #9

Belknap captures Tinsley Memorial at Lakeside Speedway

Print this page
July 24, 2021  |  by Sam Stoecklin

Dennie Belknap won the Pure Stock main event.

Dennie Belknap won the Pure Stock main event.

The 3rd Annual Karl Tinsley Memorial was the headline event of the night for Racing on the River’s Edge at Lakeside Speedway on Friday night with 74 race teams signed in to compete. Drivers competed in a total of 12 preliminary heat races and six main events throughout the night.

The enthusiastic fans on hand witnessed Dennie Belknap capturing the Tinsley Memorial in the Pure Stock division with Nic Bidinger, Tim Powell and Kacey Shields adding to their trophy collections along the way. Eddie Ingram captured the E-Mod main with Jason Park victorious in the Grand National division.

It took Nic Bidinger just under seven minutes to claim his fifth A-Mod feature win of the season, but it didn’t come easy as Bidinger and second-place finisher Justin Johnson traded the top spot to keep the fans guessing who would come away with the victory. Cody Owens, Tim Karrick, and Randal Shiffelbein Jr., completed the top five. With the victory, Bidinger extended his championship point lead to 79 over Schiffelbein.

The intense battle for the B-Mod championship lived up to expectations Friday night with the top three in the standings all finishing inside the top five by the end of the night. Tim Powell darted to the front from his outside front row starting spot to collect his second victory of the season. Mark Schafman finished close behind in second to keep things exciting and by virtue moved into a tie atop the championship standings despite not having won a feature this year. Andy Bryant was third, followed by Luke Nieman, co-leader of the standings. Kyle Henning rounded out the top five. Powell is now just 28 points behind Nieman and Schafman atop the standings.

Starting fourth on the grid for the 15-lap Stock Car main event, Kacey Shields ultimately collected his series leading fourth victory of the season by once again topping multiple-time champion Brett Heeter. Heeter settled for second in the race with Kevin Anderson, Jaylen Wettengel, and Daniel King closing out the top five. Shields has now built a 97-point lead over Wettengel and 105 over Chad Walker.

With extra money and pride on the line for the Karl Tinsley Memorial 20-lap special event for Pure Stocks, it was a thrilling way to honor Tinsley as the Anderson Family requested the top four Pure Stocks start at the back of the 16-car starting grid. The decision was agreed upon by all drivers as they set sail to determine the outcome. Dennie Belknap quickly established himself as the man to beat as he paced the field up front over fellow row-one starter, Rieli Yonts. Joseph Smith, Jr., Spencer Reiff, Don Marrs, and point’s leader Marshall Jewett started in the final four positions and as the race progressed made their way toward the front of the field. Reiff was the driver who kept the pressure on Belknap, especially the final few circuits of the event, coming up just shy of the victory. Belknap, substitute driving in the Bobby Russell-owned Pure Stock eventually took the checkered fag win with Reiff settling for second. Jewett rose from sixteenth to third at the finish with Jerett Evans fourth and Brandon Hoover fifth. Jewett now holds a 30-point lead over Don Marrs in the standings.

Just five Grand Nationals took part in their portion of the program on Friday with pole-sitter Jason Park capturing the ten-lap victory. It was Park’s first win of the season in just the third appearance of the Grand National division. Don Marrs was second in the race and clings to a two-point lead over Marshall Jewett and 28 points over Park. Terry Bruner was third in the race with Jewett fourth and Ralph Palmer fifth.

E-Mods were added to the program earlier in the week as a dozen racers showed up for the program. Eddie Ingram flew the Ingram/Kaster family banner by coming away with the victory. Buz Kaster looked strong early on but retired early from the race. Justin Bell climbed from tenth on the grid to finish second with Paul Carter, Jeff Goepferich, and Eddie Ingram, Jr., rounding out the top five.

Up next, Friday, July 30, the return of the Malvern Bank Super Late Models, plus B-Mods, Stock Cars, Pure Stocks, and E-Mods. Visit www.lakesidespeedway.net for event information and payouts or the track’s Facebook page to stay current on news regarding ‘Racing on the River’s Edge’ at Lakeside Speedway! The physical location is 5615 Wolcott Dr., Kansas City, Kansas, one mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5, northwest of Kansas City.

Official Results